Gold Panning - Christmas School Holiday Activities

01/01/2016 - 31/01/2016
Gold panning at Thames School of Mines
expand/collapse

Learn to prospect and pan for gold, just like miners in old times. Get ready to make a fortune, or not.  Finders keepers.

Gold pans supplied for the activity's duration.  Supplies of good luck are limited so first-in, first served!

Gold Panning
1 hour each session        
Dept of Conservation Centre 
Kauaeranga Valley 
Thames School of Mines
101 Cochrane Street 
Thursday 27 December 10am & 1pm
 
Wednesday 2 January 10am & 1pm

 
Thursday 3 January  

10am & 1pm
Friday 4 January 10am & 1pm
 

Saturday 5 January
Family Fun Day
10am & 1pm
 

Wednesday 9 January 10am & 1pm

 
Thursday 10 January  

10am & 1pm
Friday 11 January 10am & 1pm

 
Saturday 12 January
 
10am & 1pm
Thursday 17 January
 
10am & 1pm
Saturday 19 January  

10am & 1pm
Thursday 24 January 
 
 10am & 1pm
Saturday 26 January 
 
 10am & 1pm

Event Details

When?

  • From: 27-Dec-2018
  • To: 26-Jan-2019
  • Sessions on dates listed above
  • Each session runs fo rone hour
  • Location will be either at DOC, Kauaeranga Valley OR at Thames School of Mines

How Much?

$10 per participant per session Non-participating supervising parents are free.

Make a Booking

For enquiries and bookings, contact the staff at Thames School of Mines by phone on (07) 868 6227 or email tsm@heritage.org.nz.  Pre-booking helps make sure we have enough resourcing available.

Please note: All activities are subject to suitable weather conditions on the day.

As the Thames School of Mines site is a registered wahi tapu, there is no eating or drinking on site. Toilet facilities are off-site in Brown Street, adjacent to the Thames Small Gauge Railway Station. Visitors are asked to respect the site and its history.