Buffalo Road, Coromandel
List Entry Information
List Entry Status
List Entry Type
Historic Place Category 1
Able to Visit
22nd November 1984
Lot 8 DPS 20182 Blk VI Coromandel SD
This historic place was registered under the Historic Places Act 1980. The following text is the original citation considered by the NZHPT Board at the time of registration.
This public battery was built by the government in 1897 and opened in the following year under D.V. Allen who was Director of the Coromandel School of Mines. It housed a five stamper battery for general crushing, and a single stamper for specimen ore required by the students of the School of Mines.
Long abandoned it has been successfully restored through the efforts of the Coromandel Museum, and today it is a tourist attraction.
Historically this building is an important reminder of the economic importance of gold extraction. Its association with the Coromandel School of Mines made it unique.
Please note that entry on the New Zealand Heritage List/Rarangi Korero identifies only the heritage values of the property concerned, and should not be construed as advice on the state of the property, or as a comment of its soundness or safety, including in regard to earthquake risk, safety in the event of fire, or insanitary conditions.