Executive and senior management

All our people share a commitment to creating an environment in which New Zealand culture thrives and our heritage is valued and preserved.  Find out about the people holding senior leadership roles. 

Andrew Coleman
Andrew Colemanexpand/collapse


Chief Executive: Andrew Coleman

Deputy Chief Executive Policy, Strategy and Corporate Services: Claire Craig

Deputy Chief Executive Operations: Nicola Jackson

Deputy Chief Executive (Kāihautu) Māori Heritage: Te Kenehi Teira.

Senior management


Director Policy: Peter Richardson

Director Organisational Development: Glen Hazelton

Director Corporate Services: Nigel Ingram.


Director Northern Region: Sherry Reynolds

Director Central Region: Jamie Jacobs

Director Southern Region: Sheila Watson 

Director Regional Services: Pam Bain

Senior Legal Services Advisor: Geraldine Baumann

Manager Archaeology: Vanessa Tanner.


Director Kaiwhakahaere Tautiaki Taonga and Kaupapa Māori: Dean Whiting

Director Kaiwhakahaere Tautiaki Wāhi Taonga: Mita Harris.

Service delivery

Heritage New Zealand's services are delivered through a decentralised organisational structure:  

  • The National Office in Wellington provides national service and support functions.
  • The Māori Heritage Team (Tira) is established throughout the management and organisational structure.
  • A national Operations Group manages 43 properties, of which 17 are staffed.
  • There are Regional Offices in Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch; and Area Offices in Kerikeri, Tauranga and Dunedin.

You can obtain contact details for offices through the Contact Us page.