New appointments for Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga

Chairs Hon Marian Hobbs and Sir John Clarke are pleased to acknowledge two new appointments: Professor Rangi Mātāmua to the Māori Heritage Council and Rei Kōhere to the Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga Board.

Professor Rangi Mātāmua smiles before a dark carving.
Professor Rangi Mātāmua.expand/collapse

Both have significant skills and experience relevant to governance and Māori heritage.

Rangi Mātāmua is well known for his contribution to sharing Māori astronomy mātauranga with New Zealanders and the wider world. He is a professor of Mātauranga Māori at Massey University and was recently in the role of Chief Advisor Matariki and Mātauranga Māori, for Government.

Rei Kōhere is deputy chair of Te Runanganui o Ngati Porou and has held many senior governance roles. He has previously worked as Māori Heritage Advisor and Senior Māori Policy Advisor at Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga.

Stepping down are Patrick McGarvey who has been on the Māori Heritage Council since 2014 and Keita Kohere who has served since 2020. Patrick and Keita have provided excellent governance for many years, and we offer them our sincere thanks for all that they did for our organisation.

Niki Partsch