Judith Binney Trust 2022 Awards announced

The Judith Binney Trust has announced recipients of Fellowships and Writing Awards for 2022. 

Dr Jonathan West
Dr Jonathan West, Trust Fellowship Awardexpand/collapse
The Judith Binney Trust Fellow for 2022 is Dr Jonathan West, a historian from Lower Hutt. He will use his Fellowship Award to support completion of his manuscript for Mirrors on the Land: Histories of New Zealand’s Lakes, a publication using text and imagery to illustrate how Māori and Pākehā have lived with lakes, and how that relationship has shaped their histories. 

Four Judith Binney Trust Writing Awards have been announced for 2022. 

Dr Jane McCabe, a New Zealand historian, currently based in Melbourne, will use her award to support completion of Family Land: Inheritance, Culture and the Family Farm which focuses on Māori, Pākehā and other families, histories of inheritance on family farms in the Hokianga and Taeiri districts. 

Dr Malcolm Mulholland, of Ngāti Kahungunu, will use his award to support the conversion of his PhD into a book Prominent New Zealand Flags and Changing Notions of Identity. The thesis explores prominent flags that have represented New Zealand and various Māori movements, the factors that have shaped attitudes towards them, and how they have changed over time. 

Dr Hinekura Smith, of Te Rarawa, Ngāpuhi, will be revising her PhD into a book Whatuora: Whatu Kakahu and Living as Māori Women. A photographic study celebrating Maōri women’s lives and histories through the art of Maōri woven textiles.  

Dr Mere Whaanga , Rongomaiwahine, Ngāti Kahungunu, Ngati Pahauwera, and Erika Schollum, a photographer, will work collaboratively on their research proposal Kōrero with Paua: East Coast, a project to collect and research historical records of oral history about the East Coast of New Zealand, focusing on the ancestors of Dr Whaanga. The work will be supported by stories and photographs.  

The late Dr Judith Binney was a Board member of the New Zealand Historic Places Trust from 2007-2009.