Whanganui Regional Heritage Awards announced

The inaugural Whanganui Regional Heritage Awards, A Future for our Past, have been established by the Whanganui Regional Heritage Trust, to promote and celebrate heritage retention, conservation and education in the Whanganui, Ruapehu and Rangitīkei Districts.

Award entries open on 1 August and close on 31 August.  The winners will be announced at the Whanganui Heritage Month Opening Night and Awards Ceremony on Thursday 1 October.

The judging panel will consist of nationally recognised heritage advocates.  Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga supports the programme, and Chief Executive Andrew Coleman will be one of the judges.

The Award categories are:

  • Restored domestic architecture more than 50 years old
  • Retention and restoration of a public or commercial building or structure more than 50 years old
  • Heritage and Cultural Tourism Award
  • Outstanding contribution award for telling our heritage story
  • Future Heritage Award recognising a new building showing sensitivity to streetscape and landscape and one which will secure a cultural legacy for the future
  • Seismic award recognising commitment to earthquake strengthening
  • Māori Realm Award recognising leadership and contribution in the restoration and retention of buildings, structures and places associated with Te Ao Māori or containing Māori values.

The Trust is currently looking for sponsors for each category, plus an overall naming rights sponsor.

The awards will be held every two years and full details are on the Trust’s website, including entry forms for the awards – www.whanganuiheritage.org.nz


Helen Craig, Trustee and Awards Manager 021 103 0737 whanganui.heritagetrust@gmail.com;  or Ann Petherick, Awards Associate Manager, 027 3547 7533, ann.petherick@xtra.co.nz