New Zealand Heritage List

Rārangi Kōrero
Quick links:

6,000 places—one List.

The New Zealand Heritage List/Rārangi Kōrero (the List) is Aotearoa New Zealand’s national record of our rich and diverse place-based heritage.

About the List

The List is a professionally researched and documented record of Aotearoa New Zealand’s historical and cultural place-based heritage. It is a diverse and evolving resource available to all New Zealanders.

Please understand that most places on the List are private property and not accessible to the public.


Historic place (Category 1): places of special or outstanding historical or cultural significance

Historic place (Category 2): places of historic or cultural significance

Historic area: an area with multiple, related historic places

Wāhi tūpuna: places of ancestral significance for Māori

Wāhi tapu: places sacred to Māori in the traditional, spiritual, ritual or mythological sense

Wāhi tapu area: places that contain one or more wāhi tapu

Māori heritage on the List
Recognition on the Rārangi Kōrero is a way to actively care for Māori heritage by promoting the associated stories and tribal connections of those places.
Recent listings and reviews
Search our FAQ's?
Stay up to date with Heritage this month