National Historic Landmarks

The National Historic Landmarks/Ngā Manawhenua o Aotearoa me ōna Kōrero Tūturu is a list of places of outstanding national heritage value.

What is National Historic Landmarks?

National Historic Landmarks/ Ngā Manawhenua o Aotearoa me ōna Kōrero Tūturu is an initiative introduced by Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga to better recognise and protect those heritage places that New Zealanders care deeply about. Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga was charged with establishing a list of outstanding heritage places that are cornerstones of our identity as New Zealanders.

The purpose of the Landmarks list is to promote an appreciation of the places of greatest heritage value to the people of New Zealand. It is also to promote the conservation of these places, including their protection from natural disasters.

Why National Historic Landmarks?

Our most cherished places are taonga that deserve strategic conservation and long-term protection. The purpose of the National Historic Landmarks list is to:

  • promote the long-term protection of key heritage places
  • assist in prioritising the government’s heritage conservation efforts
  • further appreciation of these places by New Zealanders.

The National Historic Landmarks programme protects our defining moments in space and time, and helps us to take established traditions into the future. Inspiring a collective sense of belonging in the face of a dynamically changing New Zealand, National Historic Landmarks foster a sense of community and national ownership of these places and their stories.

How are National Historic Landmarks selected?

Recognition as a National Historic Landmark is based on rigorous assessment. To be considered, a heritage place must demonstrate:

  • its historical, physical, and/or cultural significance
  • wide public support
  • a risk management plan approved by Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga
  • owner agreement
  • appropriate legal protection.

National Historic Landmarks must tell stories of who we are as New Zealanders, sharing our unique stories as a nation through places big or small, natural or built.

Which places have been recognised?

The National Historic Landmark programme will be officially launched in April 2019 on World Heritage Day.  Applications for the National Historic Landmarks list are not yet open although there are a small number of places under consideration.  Please contact the Manager Heritage Listing if you have any queries about National Historic Landmarks.

Waitangi Treaty Grounds/Te Pitowhenua

The Waitangi Treaty Grounds/Te Pitowhenua may become the first place recognised as a National Historic Landmark.  Public submissions on this proposal were invited but have now closed. 

HNZPT Landmarks Policy

General Statement of Policy: National Historic Landmarks

To provide leadership and direction in key areas of work, HNZPT has produced statements of general policy for five key activities, as required by section 17 of the Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga Act 2014.  One of these is for National Historic Landmarks.  

Download a copy of the Statement of General Policy: National Historic Landmarks/Ngā Manawhenua O Aotearoa me Ōna Kōrero Tūturu (pdf, 208kb).