Māori heritage Ngā Taonga Tuku Iho nō Ngā Tūpuna

Māori heritage can be described as ngā taonga tuku iho nō ngā tūpuna = treasures handed down by our ancestors.  It comprises a wide range of different places and items from the physical and tangible to the natural environment and the intangible.

Tapuaeharuru. Photo: NZHPTexpand/collapse

For the purposes of Heritage New Zealand's responsibilities, cultural heritage excludes te reo, performing arts, most portable taonga, radio waves, etc.  

Māori heritage can be divided into the physical/tangible, natural and intangible.

E toru ngā wāhanga, arā ko ngā taonga ā tinana, ngā taonga o te taiao me ngā taonga wairua.

The physical/tangible heritage places can be described as those land-based places created, formed or shaped by earlier inhabitants. These can be archaeological sites (eg burials, pā, pits, terraces, oven stones, midden, stone/rock structures, rock-art, house sites, etc) or Māori built heritage places such as marae buildings, including their contents (eg carvings, artworks, photographs, etc) and structures (eg flagpoles, gateways, etc).

Ko ēnei ngā nohonga me ngā tohu i hanga i ngā tūpuna.

Natural heritage places may be natural features associated with traditional activities (eg springs, trees, swamp, caves, etc) or a tribal landmark (eg mountain, river, lands, sea/lake, village, etc) where no human activity is evident.

Ko ēnei ngā āhua o Ranginui rāua ko Papatūānuku me ā rāua tamariki.

The intangible heritage places are those places that have intangible characteristics where no visible feature or evidence is present but where a significant event or traditional activity took place (eg battlefield, places of meeting, of learning, of ritual, fishing ground, taniwha den, etc)

Ko ēnei ngā wāhi o ngā tūpuna hei tiaki i te mauri o ngā wāhi tūpuna, me ngā wāhi mahi o ngā tūpuna.

All or any of the above cultural heritage places may also be considered to be wāhi tapu, traditional sites, wāhi taonga, or others depending on the iwi, hapū or whānau concerned.

Mā te Iwi, Hapū, Whānau rānei e tapa, e whakarite hoki i ngā wāhi tuku iho katoa.

  • Protecting Māori Heritage

    Maori heritage

    Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga employs specialist pouārahi (Māori Heritage Advisers) and other regional staff based in its offices in Kerikeri, Auckland, Tauranga, and Wellington.  The pouārahi form part of a national team led by the Kaihautū Māori and supported by a senior Māori policy analyst in the Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga national office.

  • Marae conservation

    Working on tukutuku panel

    Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga actively assists whānau, hapū and iwi initiatives to preserve taonga through the Māori Buildings Conservation Programme.  Wharenui, wharekai, whare karakia, pātaka, waka and other forms of built heritage are unique taonga in their construction and artwork expression.

  • Funding for Māori Heritage

    Working with toetoe

    There are various funds that specifically support iwi, hapū, whānau and Māori communities to protect their mātauranga and taonga.

  • Mātauranga Māori Funding

    Mātauranga Maori grant funding

    As part of the Government’s Te Awe Kōtuku funding package, a $20m investment into the Arts, Culture and Heritage sector over a period of two years, Te Awe Kōtuku funding will support iwi, hapū, whānau and hāpori Māori to protect mātauranga Māori from the impact and the on-going threat of Covid 19. Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga has received a portion of this funding ($2 million) for a work program to support revitalisation of vulnerable mātauranga Māori within two areas: ancestral landscapes and Māori built heritage.