Māngungu was established on the shore of the spectacular Hokianga Harbour in 1828 as a Wesleyan Mission station. It was built in 1838-1839 for the Reverend Nathaniel Turner.
It is a simple building that looks out over the beautiful Hokianga Harbour, a serene scene that belies the sometimes turbulent history of the area.
Following lengthy discussions, the largest signing of the Treaty of Waitangi in the country took place here on 12 February, with over 70 chiefs adding their assent before a crowd of up to 3,000 people.
Honey bees were introduced at Māngungu, providing a major contribution to the success of pastoral farming in New Zealand.
From 1840, the mission house was occupied by the Reverend John Hobbs and his family. Hobbs had drawn the plans for the house – a single-storey structure in a symmetrical, Georgian style - and supervised its construction from local kauri.
The family left Māngungu for Auckland in 1855 and the house was moved to Onehunga where it was used as a Methodist parsonage and then sold to private owners. The mission house was returned to the Māngungu site in the 1970s, restored on behalf of Heritage New Zealand, and opened to visitors in 1977.
If you enjoy cycling, we're right at one end of the Twin Coast Cycle Trail Pou Herenga Tai!
Come and visit!
Find out about our opening hours and much more here.
Where trade met religion - and jostled for position on the harbour's edge.
Explore amazing places with these free app tours