Workers’ Cottage

145 River Road, Mangawhare, DARGAVILLE

Historic Place Category 2

List No. 3854

Quick links:
Situated at the southern end of River Road, Mangawhare, Dargaville, facing the Wairoa River, Workers’ Cottage is a well-preserved example of housing erected for local workers as Dargaville developed into an economic centre primarily serving farmers in the early twentieth century. One of several small timber residences likely relocated from the mill town of Aratapu as kauri logging declined, Workers’ Cottage represents an important regional phenomenon of building relocation around or between towns that reflects the historical evolution of Kaipara and its economic conditions. In contrast to the larger villas of the River Road Historic Area to the north, Workers’ Cottage also demonstrates the range of housing erected at Mangawhare during a period of intensive development in the years surrounding the formation of the Dargaville Borough in 1908, and remains an important example of workers’ accommodation from that time. From 1941, the long period of ownership of this place by Dalmatian migrant Ivan Perdija and his family further reflects the changing opportunities and ongoing impact arising from the kauri industry on the make-up of the Dargaville community.

The Northern Wairoa was extensively populated by Māori over many centuries with kāinga focused in the fertile river valleys between the Kaipara and Hokianga Harbours and pā and lookout points on the surrounding ridges and promontories. It was a complex landscape where interconnected iwi and hapū of the broad tribal confederations of Ngāpuhi and Ngāti Whātua, including Te Kuihi, Te Uri o Hau, Te Roroa and Te Parawhau, held overlapping rights and interests. The region had abundant resources that Māori utilised from the ngahere (forests), alluvial plains, and awa (rivers). Awa also formed an important part of the local transport network, particularly the Wairoa River which provided navigable access between Kaipara Harbour and Kaihu (now known as Dargaville). During the nineteenth century many small milling settlements were established in the region as Māori and Pākehā engaged in the kauri timber trade and gum digging. These extractive industries formed the backbone of the local economy during this period. At Mangawhare, situated by the confluence of the Kaihu and Wairoa rivers, a small Māori and Pākehā community grew around kauri extraction as early as the 1830s, and the Mangawhare block was purchased from Te Tirarau (Te Parawhau) and Paikea in 1839. With the conversion of former forestland into productive farms, the North Kaipara Dairy Company was formed in 1902. The company built its primary factory beside the river, towards the southern end of the Mangawhare block, and the settlement grew to service the rural community along with Dargaville on the northern side of the Kaihu River. In 1908 the settlements combined as Dargaville Borough – the regional centre of the Northern Wairoa.

The future site of Workers’ Cottage, Lot 6 DP 4918, was formally subdivided in 1910. During this period the land was owned by a succession of local businessmen. In 1913 Herbert Booth, an engineer living in Helensville on the south side of the Kaipara Harbour, purchased both Lot 6 and the neighbouring Lot 5. A small timber two-room cottage with a rear lean-to, a form known as a saltbox, was erected on the site during these early years. The building is locally understood to have been barged to Mangawhare from Aratapu – a nearby mill town where the kauri mill closed in 1908, although it had been the main centre of commerce in the Northern Wairoa during its heyday. Relocating extant buildings around Kaipara was a particular regional phenomenon where buildings were often moved to minimise the cost of rebuilding as population centres shifted to follow economic opportunities. The cottage has timber cladding, twelve pane windows on the front and south elevations, a corrugated iron, single ridge low-pitched gable roof, and an unadorned, full width front verandah.

Booth continued residing at Helensville and likely rented these houses to workers such as employees at the Dairy Factory and other local industries. In 1941 Workers’ Cottage was purchased by Ivan Perdija, a Dalmatian labourer who had been living in the area since at least 1925. A substantial number of Dalmatian migrants had been among the thousands of gum diggers who moved to the Dargaville area between the 1890s and 1940s to work the gumfields. Often working in family or community groups with others from their European homeland, many workers sent their earnings home to support their families, while others saved up to settle permanently in New Zealand. Dalmatian descendants continue to make up a considerable proportion of the Dargaville community in the twenty-first century. Perdija lived at Workers’ Cottage until 1966, and later owners undertook an extension and added a garage during the 1970s. In 2026 it remains a private residence.
Cottage | Stuart Park | 05/12/2003 | Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga

List Entry Information

Overview

Status

Listed

List Entry Status

Historic Place Category 2

Access

Private/No Public Access

List Number

3854

Date Entered

6th September 1984

Date of Effect

6th September 1984

City/District Council

Kaipara District

Region

Northland Region

Extent of List Entry

Extent includes the land described as Lot 6 DP 4918 (RT NA204/269), North Auckland Land District, and the building known as Workers’ Cottage thereon.

Legal description

Lot 6 DP 4918 (RT NA204/269), North Auckland Land District

Status

Listed

List Entry Status

Historic Place Category 2

Access

Private/No Public Access

List Number

3854

Date Entered

6th September 1984

Date of Effect

6th September 1984

City/District Council

Kaipara District

Region

Northland Region

Extent of List Entry

Extent includes the land described as Lot 6 DP 4918 (RT NA204/269), North Auckland Land District, and the building known as Workers’ Cottage thereon.

Legal description

Lot 6 DP 4918 (RT NA204/269), North Auckland Land District

Construction Information

Construction Details

Type

Original Construction

Description

Construction of building at Aratapu

Period

Circa nineteenth century

Start Year

1907

startYearCirca

Finish Year

1913

finishYearCirca

Type

Original Construction

Description

Relocation and erection of building at 145 River Road

Start Year

1976

Type

Demolished - additional building on site

Description

Shed demolished

Start Year

1976

Type

Additional building added to site

Description

Car port built on property

Start Year

1977

Type

Additional building added to site

Description

Double garage, replacing car port, built on rear of property

Start Year

1978

Type

Modification

Description

New sewer line

Start Year

1979

Type

Modification

Description

Sanitary plumbing and drainage improvement

Start Year

1979

Type

Addition

Description

Rear extension of kitchen and dining room

Start Year

1989

Type

Structural upgrade

Description

Building reblocked

Construction Details

Type

Original Construction

Description

Construction of building at Aratapu

Period

Circa nineteenth century

Start Year

1907

startYearCirca

Finish Year

1913

finishYearCirca

Type

Original Construction

Description

Relocation and erection of building at 145 River Road

Start Year

1976

Type

Demolished - additional building on site

Description

Shed demolished

Start Year

1976

Type

Additional building added to site

Description

Car port built on property

Start Year

1977

Type

Additional building added to site

Description

Double garage, replacing car port, built on rear of property

Start Year

1978

Type

Modification

Description

New sewer line

Start Year

1979

Type

Modification

Description

Sanitary plumbing and drainage improvement

Start Year

1979

Type

Addition

Description

Rear extension of kitchen and dining room

Start Year

1989

Type

Structural upgrade

Description

Building reblocked

Reference

Historical and Associated Iwi / Hapū / Whānau

Completion Date

30th June 2026

Report Written By

Alexandra Foster

Information Sources

Bradley, 1982

E. K. Bradley, The Great Northern Wairoa, (4th edn.), Auckland, 1982

Ryburn, 1999

Wayne Ryburn, Tall Spars, Steamers and Gum: A History of the Kaipara from Early European Settlement 1854-1947, Henderson, 1999

Dragicevich, 2015

Dragicevich, Kaye, The Gumfield Collection – Revised, Awanui, Oct 2015.

Other Information

A fully referenced copy of the Upgrade Report is available upon request from the Northern Regional Office of Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga. Disclaimer Please note that entry on the New Zealand Heritage List/Rārangi Kōrero identifies only the heritage values of the property concerned, and should not be construed as advice on the state of the property, or as a comment of its soundness or safety, including in regard to earthquake risk, safety in the event of fire, or insanitary conditions. Archaeological sites are protected by the Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga Act 2014, regardless of whether they are entered on the New Zealand Heritage List/Rārangi Kōrero or not. Archaeological sites include ‘places associated with pre-1900 human activity, where there may be evidence relating to the history of New Zealand’. This List entry report should not be read as a statement on whether or not the archaeological provisions of the Act apply to the property(s) concerned. Please contact your local Heritage New Zealand office for archaeological advice.

Historical and Associated Iwi / Hapū / Whānau

Completion Date

30th June 2026

Report Written By

Alexandra Foster

Information Sources

Bradley, 1982

E. K. Bradley, The Great Northern Wairoa, (4th edn.), Auckland, 1982

Ryburn, 1999

Wayne Ryburn, Tall Spars, Steamers and Gum: A History of the Kaipara from Early European Settlement 1854-1947, Henderson, 1999

Dragicevich, 2015

Dragicevich, Kaye, The Gumfield Collection – Revised, Awanui, Oct 2015.

Other Information

A fully referenced copy of the Upgrade Report is available upon request from the Northern Regional Office of Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga. Disclaimer Please note that entry on the New Zealand Heritage List/Rārangi Kōrero identifies only the heritage values of the property concerned, and should not be construed as advice on the state of the property, or as a comment of its soundness or safety, including in regard to earthquake risk, safety in the event of fire, or insanitary conditions. Archaeological sites are protected by the Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga Act 2014, regardless of whether they are entered on the New Zealand Heritage List/Rārangi Kōrero or not. Archaeological sites include ‘places associated with pre-1900 human activity, where there may be evidence relating to the history of New Zealand’. This List entry report should not be read as a statement on whether or not the archaeological provisions of the Act apply to the property(s) concerned. Please contact your local Heritage New Zealand office for archaeological advice.

Further Information

Current Usages

Uses: Accommodation

Specific Usage: House

Former Usages

General Usage: Accommodation

Specific Usage: House

Current Usages

Uses: Accommodation

Specific Usage: House

Former Usages

General Usage: Accommodation

Specific Usage: House

Sign up to hear more

Get the latest heritage news, features and events delivered
straight to your inbox.