The Northern Wairoa was extensively populated by Māori over many centuries with kāinga focused in the fertile river valleys between the Kaipara and Hokianga Harbours and pā and lookout points on the surrounding ridges and promontories. It was a complex landscape where interconnected iwi and hapū of the broad tribal confederations of Ngāpuhi and Ngāti Whātua, including Te Kuihi, Te Uri o Hau, Te Roroa and Te Parawhau, held overlapping rights and interests. The region had abundant resources that Māori utilised from the ngahere (forests), alluvial plains, and awa (rivers). Awa also formed an important part of the local transport network, particularly the Wairoa River which provided navigable access between Kaipara Harbour and Kaihu (now known as Dargaville). During the nineteenth century many small milling settlements were established in the region as Māori and Pākehā engaged in the kauri timber trade and gum digging. These extractive industries formed the backbone of the local economy during this period. At Mangawhare, situated by the confluence of the Kaihu and Wairoa rivers, a small Māori and Pākehā community grew around kauri extraction as early as the 1830s, and the Mangawhare block was purchased from Te Tirarau (Te Parawhau) and Paikea in 1839. With the conversion of former forestland into productive farms, the North Kaipara Dairy Company was formed in 1902. The company built its primary factory beside the river, towards the southern end of the Mangawhare block, and the settlement grew to service the rural community along with Dargaville on the northern side of the Kaihu River. In 1908 the settlements combined as Dargaville Borough – the regional centre of the Northern Wairoa.
The future site of Workers’ Cottage, Lot 6 DP 4918, was formally subdivided in 1910. During this period the land was owned by a succession of local businessmen. In 1913 Herbert Booth, an engineer living in Helensville on the south side of the Kaipara Harbour, purchased both Lot 6 and the neighbouring Lot 5. A small timber two-room cottage with a rear lean-to, a form known as a saltbox, was erected on the site during these early years. The building is locally understood to have been barged to Mangawhare from Aratapu – a nearby mill town where the kauri mill closed in 1908, although it had been the main centre of commerce in the Northern Wairoa during its heyday. Relocating extant buildings around Kaipara was a particular regional phenomenon where buildings were often moved to minimise the cost of rebuilding as population centres shifted to follow economic opportunities. The cottage has timber cladding, twelve pane windows on the front and south elevations, a corrugated iron, single ridge low-pitched gable roof, and an unadorned, full width front verandah.
Booth continued residing at Helensville and likely rented these houses to workers such as employees at the Dairy Factory and other local industries. In 1941 Workers’ Cottage was purchased by Ivan Perdija, a Dalmatian labourer who had been living in the area since at least 1925. A substantial number of Dalmatian migrants had been among the thousands of gum diggers who moved to the Dargaville area between the 1890s and 1940s to work the gumfields. Often working in family or community groups with others from their European homeland, many workers sent their earnings home to support their families, while others saved up to settle permanently in New Zealand. Dalmatian descendants continue to make up a considerable proportion of the Dargaville community in the twenty-first century. Perdija lived at Workers’ Cottage until 1966, and later owners undertook an extension and added a garage during the 1970s. In 2026 it remains a private residence.

List Entry Information
Status
Listed
List Entry Status
Historic Place Category 2
Access
Private/No Public Access
List Number
3854
Date Entered
6th September 1984
Date of Effect
6th September 1984
City/District Council
Kaipara District
Region
Northland Region
Extent of List Entry
Extent includes the land described as Lot 6 DP 4918 (RT NA204/269), North Auckland Land District, and the building known as Workers’ Cottage thereon.
Legal description
Lot 6 DP 4918 (RT NA204/269), North Auckland Land District
Status
Listed
List Entry Status
Historic Place Category 2
Access
Private/No Public Access
List Number
3854
Date Entered
6th September 1984
Date of Effect
6th September 1984
City/District Council
Kaipara District
Region
Northland Region
Extent of List Entry
Extent includes the land described as Lot 6 DP 4918 (RT NA204/269), North Auckland Land District, and the building known as Workers’ Cottage thereon.
Legal description
Lot 6 DP 4918 (RT NA204/269), North Auckland Land District
Construction Details
Type
Original Construction
Description
Construction of building at Aratapu
Period
Circa nineteenth century
Start Year
1907
startYearCirca
Finish Year
1913
finishYearCirca
Type
Original Construction
Description
Relocation and erection of building at 145 River Road
Start Year
1976
Type
Demolished - additional building on site
Description
Shed demolished
Start Year
1976
Type
Additional building added to site
Description
Car port built on property
Start Year
1977
Type
Additional building added to site
Description
Double garage, replacing car port, built on rear of property
Start Year
1978
Type
Modification
Description
New sewer line
Start Year
1979
Type
Modification
Description
Sanitary plumbing and drainage improvement
Start Year
1979
Type
Addition
Description
Rear extension of kitchen and dining room
Start Year
1989
Type
Structural upgrade
Description
Building reblocked
Construction Details
Type
Original Construction
Description
Construction of building at Aratapu
Period
Circa nineteenth century
Start Year
1907
startYearCirca
Finish Year
1913
finishYearCirca
Type
Original Construction
Description
Relocation and erection of building at 145 River Road
Start Year
1976
Type
Demolished - additional building on site
Description
Shed demolished
Start Year
1976
Type
Additional building added to site
Description
Car port built on property
Start Year
1977
Type
Additional building added to site
Description
Double garage, replacing car port, built on rear of property
Start Year
1978
Type
Modification
Description
New sewer line
Start Year
1979
Type
Modification
Description
Sanitary plumbing and drainage improvement
Start Year
1979
Type
Addition
Description
Rear extension of kitchen and dining room
Start Year
1989
Type
Structural upgrade
Description
Building reblocked
Historical and Associated Iwi / Hapū / Whānau
Completion Date
30th June 2026
Report Written By
Alexandra Foster
Information Sources
Bradley, 1982
E. K. Bradley, The Great Northern Wairoa, (4th edn.), Auckland, 1982
Ryburn, 1999
Wayne Ryburn, Tall Spars, Steamers and Gum: A History of the Kaipara from Early European Settlement 1854-1947, Henderson, 1999
Dragicevich, 2015
Dragicevich, Kaye, The Gumfield Collection – Revised, Awanui, Oct 2015.
Other Information
A fully referenced copy of the Upgrade Report is available upon request from the Northern Regional Office of Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga. Disclaimer Please note that entry on the New Zealand Heritage List/Rārangi Kōrero identifies only the heritage values of the property concerned, and should not be construed as advice on the state of the property, or as a comment of its soundness or safety, including in regard to earthquake risk, safety in the event of fire, or insanitary conditions. Archaeological sites are protected by the Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga Act 2014, regardless of whether they are entered on the New Zealand Heritage List/Rārangi Kōrero or not. Archaeological sites include ‘places associated with pre-1900 human activity, where there may be evidence relating to the history of New Zealand’. This List entry report should not be read as a statement on whether or not the archaeological provisions of the Act apply to the property(s) concerned. Please contact your local Heritage New Zealand office for archaeological advice.
Historical and Associated Iwi / Hapū / Whānau
Completion Date
30th June 2026
Report Written By
Alexandra Foster
Information Sources
Bradley, 1982
E. K. Bradley, The Great Northern Wairoa, (4th edn.), Auckland, 1982
Ryburn, 1999
Wayne Ryburn, Tall Spars, Steamers and Gum: A History of the Kaipara from Early European Settlement 1854-1947, Henderson, 1999
Dragicevich, 2015
Dragicevich, Kaye, The Gumfield Collection – Revised, Awanui, Oct 2015.
Other Information
A fully referenced copy of the Upgrade Report is available upon request from the Northern Regional Office of Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga. Disclaimer Please note that entry on the New Zealand Heritage List/Rārangi Kōrero identifies only the heritage values of the property concerned, and should not be construed as advice on the state of the property, or as a comment of its soundness or safety, including in regard to earthquake risk, safety in the event of fire, or insanitary conditions. Archaeological sites are protected by the Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga Act 2014, regardless of whether they are entered on the New Zealand Heritage List/Rārangi Kōrero or not. Archaeological sites include ‘places associated with pre-1900 human activity, where there may be evidence relating to the history of New Zealand’. This List entry report should not be read as a statement on whether or not the archaeological provisions of the Act apply to the property(s) concerned. Please contact your local Heritage New Zealand office for archaeological advice.
Current Usages
Uses: Accommodation
Specific Usage: House
Former Usages
General Usage: Accommodation
Specific Usage: House
Current Usages
Uses: Accommodation
Specific Usage: House
Former Usages
General Usage: Accommodation
Specific Usage: House
Location
Sign up to hear more
Get the latest heritage news, features and events delivered
straight to your inbox.


